12 Holy Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva



Lord Shiva, the Hindu deity known as the destroyer of evil, is worshipped in various forms across the world. One of the most revered forms is the Jyotirlinga, which represents Lord Shiva’s infinite cosmic energy. There are twelve Jyotirlingas spread across India, each with its own unique significance and history.

12 holy jyotirlingas of lord shiva

1. Kedarnath

The first Jyotirlinga is the Kedarnath Temple in Uttarakhand. Situated amidst the majestic Himalayas, this temple is believed to be the place where Lord Shiva absolved Pandavas from their sins.

2. Nageshwar

The second Jyotirlinga is the Nageshwar Jyotirlinga in Gujarat. It is said that Lord Shiva appeared here as a fierce form to protect a devotee named Supriya from a demon.

3. Somnath

Next is the Somnath Temple in Gujarat, which is the third Jyotirlinga. It is believed to be the place where Lord Shiva emerged as a self-manifested linga.

4. Mallikarjuna

The fourth Jyotirlinga is the Mallikarjuna Temple in Andhra Pradesh. It is situated on the Shri Shaila Mountain and is considered to be one of the holiest pilgrimage sites.

5. Mahakaleshwar

The fifth Jyotirlinga is the Mahakaleshwar Temple in Madhya Pradesh. It is located in the ancient city of Ujjain and is known for its powerful energy and spiritual significance.

6. Omkareshwar

The sixth Jyotirlinga is the Omkareshwar Temple in Madhya Pradesh. Situated on an island in the Narmada River, this temple is a symbol of Lord Shiva’s Omkar form.

7. Vaidyanath

The seventh Jyotirlinga is the Vaidyanath Temple in Jharkhand. It is believed to be the place where Lord Shiva’s body part, the heart, fell after his wife Sati’s self-immolation.

8. Bhimashankar

The eighth Jyotirlinga is the Bhimashankar Temple in Maharashtra. Surrounded by lush greenery and scenic beauty, this temple is a popular pilgrimage site for Lord Shiva devotees.

9. Rameshwaram

The ninth Jyotirlinga is the Rameshwaram Temple in Tamil Nadu. It is believed to be the place where Lord Rama worshipped Lord Shiva to seek forgiveness for killing Ravana.

10. Grishneshwar

The tenth Jyotirlinga is the Grishneshwar Temple in Maharashtra. It is said that Lord Shiva himself appeared in the form of a jyotirlinga to a devotee named Bhosale.

11. Tryambakeshwar

The eleventh Jyotirlinga is the Tryambakeshwar Temple in Maharashtra. Surrounded by the Brahmagiri hills, this temple is considered to be the origin of the sacred Godavari River.

12. Kashi Vishwanath

The twelfth Jyotirlinga is the Kashi Vishwanath Temple in Uttar Pradesh. Situated in the holy city of Varanasi, this temple is one of the most revered and ancient temples in India.

Visiting and offering prayers at these twelve holy Jyotirlingas is considered extremely auspicious for devotees of Lord Shiva. It is believed that by doing so, one can attain spiritual enlightenment and divine blessings from Lord Shiva.

Have a Query in mind?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *